Contest Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015-2016 English Department’s Creative Writing Awards!

The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Poetry Winner/$2,000: Nicholas DiBenedetto for “From a Mutilated Flower”

(Honorable Mention, Framig Francisco for “Noise”)

Prose Winner/$2,000: Traci Parker for “Harlem”

(Honorable Mention, Daniel Arpie for “Invagination”)

The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First place/$1000: Rebecca Hill for “Mr. Peter’s Awakening”

Second place/$300: Mairead Loschi for “Elastic”

Third Place/$200: Sten Spinella for “An Important Distinction”

Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First place/$1000: Eleanor Reeds

Second place/$500: Emily Kraus

Third place/$250: Erick Piller

The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First prize/$250: Stephanie Koo for “Pieces of Po Po”

Graduate First Prize/$250: Kristina Reardon for “She Still Remembers This”

The Aetna Translation Award

Winner/$250: Kerry Carnahan for “Have a Nice Fucking Day”

(Honorable Mentions, Matthew Shelton for “On the Denomination Emigrants” and “The Hyena”)

The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner/$250: Kathryn Coto for “River Patel and the Book of Blood”

(Honorable Mention, Traci Parker for “Nzinga, Not Alone”

Long River Graduate Writing Award

Winner/$250: Eleanor Reeds