LRR 2010

Letter from the Editor

It seems rare to do something in college that you are actually proud of. I have found that every day introduces a new source of shame. Whether it be getting too drunk and embarrassing yourself, starting a ten–page paper at midnight the night before it’s due, and consequently,having to hand it in to a professor you actually respect, or being called on in class when you quite simply were not paying attention. All of these things contribute to the cloud of shame that always seems to hover over college students.

Long River Review is something we can be proud of. For the past three years, I have been fortunate enough to contribute to the production and publication of Long River Review. Every year, I go into it with the same sinking feeling that this will be the year that there will not be any good submissions, the editing panels will not take it seriously, or the Design Center will not live up to its extremely high standards. I am always proven wrong.

The talent that is showcased in Long River Review never ceases to amaze me. The written and artistic submissions that we receive seem to get better with each passing year; the excitement and zeal of the editors makes the late nights and long weeks possible, and the Design Center continues to raise the bar on itself as they work tirelessly to design a journal that all UConn students can proudly call their own.

Long River Review is a representation of the talent that the UConn student body has to offer. So, as your cloud of shame hovers, find solace in the fact that Long River Review is something of which to be proud.

Annie Brooks

Prize Winners

The Wallace Stevens Poetry Prize

Given by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., for the best group of poems by a graduate or undergraduate
November” by Phillip Korth, First Prize
Something New” by Katelyn Aguilar, Second Prize
Idyll” by Matthew Salyer, Third Prize

The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prize

Given by David and Emily Collins for the best poem and best prose work by an undergraduate
Three Stories” by John Allie, Prose
Aesthetics” by Duncan Campbell, Poetry
Robert Strong-bear breathes in the bruised air and sweeps one thick hand” by Nicole Rubin, Poetry (Honorable Mention)

The Jennie Hackman Memorial Award for Short Fiction

Awarded in Memory of Jacob and Jennie Hackman for the best work of short fiction by an undergradate
How Gary Met Melisa” by Jesse Williams, First Prize
Shadows on the Wall” by Miranda DePoi, Second Prize
Funeral Reds” by Sierra Ryan, Third Prize

The Aetna Undergraduate Creative Nonfiction Award

Given by the Aetna Chair in Writing to support excellence in undergraduate creative nonfiction
He Had Some Tears” by Timothy Stobierski, First Prize
The Man With the Lopsided Birthday Cake” by Jennifer Few, Second Prize

The Long River Graduate Writing Award

For the best piece of writing in any genre by a graduate
Deliberate Decisions” by Zara Rix

The Long River Art Award

Xiaotong Duan, Photography

The Gloriana Gill Art Awards

John Allie, Photography
Alexia Lalande, Silk Screen


  • Editor in Chief
    Annie Brooks
  • Faculty Advisor
    Penelope Pelizzon
  • Managing Editor
    Rachel Madariaga
  • Public Relations Directors
    Sahar Kashi
    Ryan Pape
  • Poetry Editor
    Joe Welch
  • Poetry Panel
    Duncan Craig
    Reed Immer
    Ryan Pape
    Nicole Rubin
    Marcus Rummell
  • Fiction Editor
    Michelle P. Carter
  • Fiction Panel
    John Allie
    Annie Brooks
    Mandi Casolo
    Sahar Kashi
    Claire Kenney
    Rachel Madariaga
  • Creative Nonfiction Editor
    Kenzi Wilbur
  • Creative Nonfiction Panel
    Kerri Brown
    Daniel Gregory
    Tim Stobierski
    Ryan Wiltzius
  • Copy Editor
    Kerri Brown
  • Translations Editor
    Ryan Pape
  • Development Director
    Daniel Gregory
  • Art Director
    Edvin Yegir
  • Designers
    Kathryn Keller
    Nicole Robichaud
    Emma Sullivan
    Staci Whinfield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *