UConn Creative Writing Contest Winners!

Congratulations to the 2017 winners of UConn’s English Department Creative Writing Awards!

Keep an eye out for some of these pieces in the upcoming 20th anniversary edition of Long River Review this spring.

The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Prose Winner: Breanna Patterson, for “The Times”
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Koo, for “Where Do Birds Go to Die?”

Poetry Winner: Emma Kraner, for “Uffizi Gallery”
Honorable Mention: Emma Kraner, for “Dissection”

The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First Place: Lilia Shen, for “The Picasso House”
Second Place: Sten Spinella, for “Angus”
Third Place: Jeremiah Dennehy, for “Constance”
Honorable Mention: Brianna McNish, for “In Another Life”

Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First Place: Anna Ziering
Second Place: Brian Sneeden
Third Place: Jillian Cundari
Honorable Mentions: Akshayaa Chittibabu and Samantha Bassman

The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner: Jameson Croteau, for “Moon Bound”

The Aetna Translation Award

Winner: Matthew Ryan Shelton, for “Transubstantiation”
Honorable Mention: Matthew Ryan Shelton, for “Etched Away”

The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First Prize: Noah Bukowski, for “Guilt Treatment”
Honorable Mention: Kiana Cao, for “My Home, Your Home”

Graduate First Prize: Nyanka Joseph, for “Marrow and Mopping”

Long River Graduate Writing Award

Winner: Kristina Reardon, for “Crumbling Walls”

Congratulations to all winners!
Long River Review would also like to extend a very special congratulations to our staff members.

For more information about UConn’s creative writing contests and how to participate, please visit the department website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.