LRR 2008

Letter from the Editor

I was first handed an issue of the Long River Review while I was still a high school senior visiting UConn. I came to a campus fair and asked one of the university representatives to tell me about the creative writing department. He was an older and therefore seemingly sagacious gentleman. He handed me a copy of the Long River journal.

Four years later, I have had the pleasure of working with a group students whose dedication and enthusiasm for this project has resulted in one of the strongest issues yet. The late nights and long weeks have paid off, as it is a privilege to present the fruits of labor put forth by the following writers and artists.

My hope is that every reader will find a piece, an image, or even a line that resonates with them. In doing so, I will feel a deep sense of accomplishment by being able to pass on a pursuit which has brought me much gratitude.

Nathan Harold

Prize Winners

The Wallace Stevens Poetry Prize
For the best group of poems by a graduate or undergraduate
Michael Pontacoloni, First Prize
Katrina Leno, Second Prize
Matthew Harding, Third Prize
The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prize
Given by David and Emily Collins for the best poem and best prose work by an undergraduate
Matthew Harding, Poetry
Monoswita Saha, Prose
The Jennie Hackman Memorial Award for Short Fiction
Awarded in Memory of Jacob and Jennie Hackman for the best work of short fiction by an undergraduate
Emily McDonald, First Prize
Emily Capobianco, Second Prize
Monoswita Saha, Third Prize
The Aetna Undergraduate Creative Nonfiction Award
Given by the Aetna Chair in Writing to support excellence in undergraduate creative nonfiction writing
Jephrie Cabral
The Long River Graduate Writing Award
For the best piece of writing in any genre by a graduate
Christopher Venter
The Long River Art Award
Paulina Perlwitz, Art
The Gloriana Gill Art Awards
Elizabeth Gibbings, Drawing
Emily Giorgione, Photography


Editor-in-Chief | Nathan Harold
Faculty Advisor | Ellen Litman
Managing Editor | Michael Pontacoloni
Public Relations Manager | Amanda Wisniewski
Copy Editor | Juliana Kenny
Poetry Editor | James Davis
Fiction Editor | Sarah Zolan
Creative Nonfiction Editor | Austin Samsel
Art Director | Edvin Yegir

Poetry Panelists:
Nathan Bean
Juliana Kenny
Jennifer Orlando
Michael Pontacoloni
Michael Schrage

Fiction Panelists:
Tess Bird
Anne Brooks
Karina Pierce
Lydia Smith
Amanda Wisniewski

Creative Nonfiction Panelists:
Brian Brennan
Nathan Harold
Rachel Madariaga
Julie Trzaski

Krystine Conde
Jessica Tully
Lindsey Voskowsky
Kendra Wallace


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.